Snow Sculptures and Perry Ellis

The past week, the imp has been in camp.  She is loving it.  Thank you Big Brothers Big Sisters for helping her enjoy Saskatchewan a little bit more!!  The night before she had a slumber party with RCMP officers in Regina … I mean how much safer can you get?!? 🙂

We had been to Canora before, but just to take our picture with the big Ukrainian lady.

Beginning of July when we passed through going to visit family friends.

Beginning of July when we passed through going to visit family friends.

With the imp yucking it up in Regina, the sidekick and I decided to go ‘downtown’ Canora and explore a little bit of even smaller-then-where-we-live-town Saskatchewan.  We were pleasantly surprised.

Our first stop was the ice cream store.  I didn’t take any pictures so I stole one off my dad’s camera from when he was there.  🙂 He loves me and won’t sue me for copyright privileges.

1150394_573151079411928_967754945_n

All the different flavours of soft serve!!! It took me 20 minutes to figure out what I wanted to buy.

We then walked the main strip……………………………..In small town Saskatchewan that means walking 3 blocks….if you’re lucky.  However this was totally worth it.  Although I should clarify in the summer, not in the winter.

IMG_20130813_150743

Stepping back in time. You expect a cowboy to come walking around the corner.

We saw a multicultural menu.  Never assume that rural Saskatchewan is behind the times LOL.

We saw a multicultural menu. Never assume that rural Saskatchewan is behind the times LOL.

Then again this sign is probably circa 1985..so Saskathewan in other aspects is a little behind.

Then again this sign is probably circa 1985..so Saskatchewan in other aspects is a little behind.

The sidekick was surprised to see this Coke slogan.  He’s a big Diet Coke drinker and this amused him for a few moments.  I looked it up, and we think this sign is probably about 28 years old.

IMG_20130813_151058

We then headed over to the Ukrainian Museum and The Flower Mill. Both must sees.

IMG_20130813_151244

Ukrainian artifacts from Saskatchewan days of long ago.

The admission fee for this small museum is $2.  How can you go wrong for that price?  Admittedly being of Ukrainian descent, I found this museum a little more fascinating then the sidekick did.  However he did enjoy it he said.  The museum use to be a meat store.  The owner sold it to the museum people for $1.  I’m still shaking my head…$1.

Prince Volodymyr  - ruler of Ukraine 980 - 1015.

Prince Volodymyr – ruler of Ukraine 980 – 1015.

Prince Volodymyr brought Christianity to Ukraine.  I was surprised to find out he was female….ok haha … this means you really need to go and support this museum. Their budget for props isn’t the greatest.  It was a really good side trip though.

IMG_20130813_151142

How much more Ukrainian can you get??? LOL!! I’m sure every Baba (grandmother) has one of these babies in their living room.

IMG_20130813_151455

91 years old. Makes these every winter. Almost makes me think about venturing out in the winter here to see what he’ll come up with….almost I said.

IMG_20130813_150911

Nixon – The Flower Mills greeter. Best, friendliest greeter I have ever met. Totally made us laugh as he came with his leash in his mouth. Every patron he greeted the same way.

20130813_150119

The Flower Mill was a really cool, hip store. It had a blend of rural (the cowboy boot light set – how adorable??) to urban Toronto (a lovely huge Perry Ellis mirror. If only I could have fit it in my Toyato Yaris. I really need to have another car for these road trips we are taking. Maybe next year I can afford another car.)

Canora – I hope if you ever come visit me you take a day trip out there.  It was a great cheap way to spend an afternoon!!

Not this upcoming week, but the next we are headed for an overnight in Saskatoon.  I can’t wait 🙂 A city… I’m drooling with anticipation.

Leave a Reply

