Mommy won’t find me – in North Dakota

Our adventures continue south of the border today. We drove about 4 1/2 hours to Minot, North Dakota. I saw a gorgeous scene of cows in a field during the morning drive. The shadows from the morning sun was just breathtaking. I had excitedly told the imp to look out the window to which she deadpanned “it’s not like I’ve seen my last cow here”. Prairie living hasn’t totally agreed with her yet.

The border crossing was a small building and there was one car in front of us…my parents. Quite different from crossing in Niagara Falls, Ontario.

The scenery in North Dakota was alright….kinda flat like Saskatchewan. The imp from the back seat took some lovely photos. With our sightseeing I would love to have an amazing camera. One day maybe :). It would be so cool to show you the beauty in what we see on our adventures.

20131019-211532.jpg

20131019-211556.jpg

We used to go to Buffalo all the time when we lived in Ontario. We are a family that likes to travel and experience new things. We have seen a lot of Saskatchewan, so it was brilliant to be able to go to somewhere we’ve never been.

We got to do some shopping, but I’ll be honest – it’s nothing at all like Buffalo. There was no Ollie’s or Big Lots. We found a couple of stores that had some good deals. Sadly with no cell phone coverage I didn’t take my mobile with me so no funny pics of the things we saw. Like the sign that said ‘scream until daddy stops for ice cream DQ’ . Thank gosh mom was driving cuz that didn’t happen.

Saw some fun things I would have loved to share with that phone. Like Pizza Ranch. A buffet of pizza. There was also chicken, potatoes, and salad – so you feel better about putting yourself into a carb induced euphoria. Definitely a different kind of experience. Dessert pizza for dessert.

We did find a cool place called Cherry Blossom where you make your own frozen yogurt. They had different kinds and then you put all your fixings on. Both the imp and I were in heaven.

20131019-221726.jpg

We then went back to our hotel. Where the imp told the sidekick “I bet mommy can’t find me.” And for a couple of seconds when I walked into the room I didn’t.

20131019-213712.jpg

20131019-213743.jpg

We then went to the hotels pool and water slide. Where we had a lovely time. I don’t get paid anything for my blogs when I write about stuff. These are just places we’ve been that we’ve had lovely times at. I highly recommend Sleep Inn in Minot. The water was a little to cold for me in one pool – but look at this!!! When’s the last time you were at a hotel with slides like this?

20131019-214044.jpg

20131019-214109.jpg

And then I caught the imp photo bombing us …. Sigh….Tweens….lol

20131019-214215.jpg

I watched oxygen. I know I don’t have this channel in Canada.

20131019-214315.jpg

Afterwards the imp watched nick and Disney. She likes American tv 🙂

Tomorrow is a continental breakfast and a stop over to walmart. Weekends like this are what life is all about. Family and enjoying this earth we all occupy. I can’t wait to save money for our next far away adventure 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

