The cashier turned around

The kid got home from school on Thursday a  couple minutes late out of breath.  Her bus stop is at the corner so I was a little befuddled.

“Sorry I’m late,” she said.

“No worries. You’re home.  How come?” I asked.

“The bus driver for some reason missed our stop and we got off 2 blocks over by the church.” she answered as she took off her coat.  “I made a mistake though.  I wasn’t paying attention and turned to walk down the other street and I realized it was the wrong street.  But B was there and I didn’t want to look weird that I didn’t know where I was going so I walked with him.”  She began to walk up the stairs, “He showed me his house.  So I whispered ‘I can stalk you now’ which took care of my walking mistake and I turned around and came home.”

I was silent for a few moments.  It was a lot to process.  “So, um.. what’d he do?”

The kid began emptying out her lunch bag.  “Just looked at me….he kinda smiled.”

“Uh huh.”

I have to admit, I do admire her creativity in making a  mistake fun.

20 minutes later found us at the grocery store picking up odds and ends for the weekend.  Waiting in line, the kid was punching letters on her phone with a concentration that was awe inspiring.  “What are you doing?”  I asked.

“Nothing!” she replied as she quickly put her phone in her pocket – eyes wide and smile a mile big.

“Hand it over,” I said.

“Huh?”

“I get complete access to your phone whenever I want.  When you hide your phone I worry,” my hand was out.

“It isn’t a big deal,” she insisted.

My hand was out as I eyed her with my ‘mom’ eyes.

“It’s in the notes,” she informed me.

I scrolled and laughed.  Out loud.  The cashier turned around to look at me.  The kid smiled.

20140119-183406.jpg

Disclaimer: I’ve always written the kid has a good sense of humour.  This was the kid being funny.  She is not going to stalk the kid.  The kid and her are actually good friends.  She was being a funny 12 year old kid.  If you thought otherwise, please learn to laugh.  And enjoy the stories I write 🙂

2 thoughts on “The cashier turned around

Leave a Reply

