My first flood

The past couple of days has been grey, cold, wet and depressing.  Heavy rain was non-stop for a little while.  Sadly we’re under heavy rainfall warnings until Tuesday last I looked.  This morning the mayor of Yorkton declared a state of emergency.  I’ve never been in a state of emergency zone before.  Thankfully we live on a ‘hill’, so our basement is fine.  A lot of people in the province though have been hit pretty hard though.  I was reading on one facebook site, that due to the heavy rains that have been falling the past couple of years, the deductible on basements is something like $25 000………I am thankful to live on my ‘hill’ right now 🙂

image

Road by our house that has become a lake.

image

Ford Dealership waterlogged

image

Road closed off by downtown Yorkton.

image

Jubilee Park underwater.

image

Worms have been left homeless as well. Massive amounts of them in the water the kid said.

image

To the baseball diamond ….. nope … canoe there.

image

image

No way my little Yaris could have gone down the road to home.

image

Grass should be there. It’s like a lake.

image

Just outside of Yorkton.

image

The Regina Leader Post found my picture on instagram 🙂

For a better view of my now ‘famous’ picture on the Regina Leader Post, please click this link.  I was quite surprised and thrilled to see my picture in the paper 🙂 Can I put this on my works listed page?  I wonder if they would hire me to be a photographer out here.  My  delusions of grandeur now have visual confirmation.  One day soon I think…one day soon 😉

In the meantime, I will continue wearing my sexy rainboots and building my boat….you know – in case my ‘hill’ is breached.  Sunshine on Wednesday can’t come soon enough.

In other news, I did not win the guaranteed million in any of the Lotto 649 for the month of June.

god

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My first flood

  1. I’m pretty pleased to uncover this great site.
    I wanted to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely really liked every little bit of it and I have you book marked to look
    at new stuff on your website.

Leave a Reply

